The title sounds like it ought to be a song, huh?

My FAVORITE time of the year is upon us…yes, March Madness has started with the bracket selection yesterday and once again, I will be wagering heavily on the NCAA tournament. My habit started in 1988 at Weaver & Tidwell, CPAs where a young man in the IT department started a pool on the March Madness brackets. I played and for several years always won a little money back. The trick was being able to watch every televised conference tournament and figuring out who the hot teams were. I even one the tournament in one of those early years. Lately, I’ve been close to the money but it’s all been a donation to the pot.

I’m back this year, again with hopes to turn my little wager into big money. Yep, I’m going to part with my $5 per bracket (I limit myself to 3 brackets at the most) and see if I can’t reel in the prize money. The guy who runs it is hoping for 600…yes, 600 entries. That’s the neat thing about this particular pool – most of the money goes to help the All Church Home in Ft. Worth. I know he takes kids to the Rangers game, I think coaches baseball teams for them and does other things I’m not as aware of.

If you like playing your hunch, you can go to http://www.madnessinmarch.com and sign up online. You’ll have to send some money in and hope your teams win.

