I’m thankful for great times with great friends.  It was one of those nights of great company, great food and great conversation.  We were talking about my predicament in life…no job, no current prospect, no income and no defining job role that I am seeking.  Not a great combination for success I suppose.

People ask me “what do you want to do?”  Well, tonight I figured out there’s an easy answer but I’m not sure how to say it where others will understand.

I want to show others the overwhelming love of Jesus.

I don’t know what kind of job that looks like, I don’t know what it pays, I don’t know where the office is…lots of I don’t knows.  I just know thats what I want to do.

Today I saw two stories on the morning news.  The Dow would likely break a record high was the first story.  By the end of the day, the record was broken and I’m guessing someone was breaking open some champagne.  The second story was that 51,000 people would be homeless and sleeping on the streets of New York tonight and ONE-HALF of those are CHILDREN.  (How many more in Chicago, Miami, Los Angeles, Houston, Denver, Dallas, Atlanta, etc.?)

What story do you think continued to make the news cycles today?  Yeah, the homeless were quickly forgotten because our 401k’s are a little better off, the rich just got a little richer and life is good.

Hey, I’m guilty too!  I want a Mercedes S550.  Yes, it’s $110,000 to buy one.  I want to landscape my backyard and change the configuration of the pool.  I want to travel.  I want, I want, I want.

But I also want to show people the love of Jesus.  In fact, I want that more than the other stuff.  I want what will last and will change generations.  I want the wealthy to make more money AND give more money away because they have experienced the love of Jesus.  I want the homeless to get off the streets because someone showed them the love of Jesus AND provided a way for them to get off the street.  I want the young lady walking into the abortion center to experience the love of Jesus AND let her baby have life because someone showed her the love of Jesus.  I want the drug users to put down the pipe or the needle because someone showed them the love of Jesus.  I want the murderer to put down the gun, to cherish life and to show others what they have learned about the love of Jesus.

Oh Lord, I pray I reflect you.  I pray I show others the love the Jesus, my Redeemer and Savior.

Grace and peace.

