Today portions of the Defense of Marriage Act were revoked paving the way for more homosexual marriages or benefits for partners.  Yesterday an anti-abortion bill was filibustered in the Texas Senate and Wendy Davis has become a hero for what she did to stop the bill from being voted on.  Traditional marriage is under attack and people are becoming more and more complacent towards divorce.  The rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer.

I say Christians have plenty to rejoice about in this world.  There is plenty of opportunity to live out what we are called to live out.  The “Great Commission” isn’t to sit back and let government be our religious monitor.  No, we are called to go into all the world preaching the gospel.  The good news is there is plenty of opportunity to do what God has tasked me to do.

I hear so many say the world is such a bad place.  Really?  Read the Bible.  It wasn’t all sunshine and roses when Paul was cruising around.  Flogged.  Imprisoned.  I don’t know that I have it so bad.  Jesus came with some pretty good news and was hung on a cross.  And I want to complain that I have it bad?

The Bible tells me I will experience difficult times.  Check.  The Bible tells me I will meet some unsavory characters.  Check.  The Bible tells me I should expect to be persecuted and ridiculed.  Check.

Christians in this world should rejoice that God loves us so much He is given us plenty of opportunity to live out His desire for us.  As we should do what He says, GO and TEACH.

Grace and peace.

