“There is the God we want and the God that is.  Rarely are they the same.” – Patrick Morley

I have come to learn that God doesn’t bless things, he blesses his people.  I look back now at a prayer life that usually was full of requests for things, not for people.  I prayed for the tangible while God works in the intangible.  I wonder why I don’t get the answers I want and have found it is usually because I am looking in the wrong place.  

I don’t know how to answer the people who say they prayed for a close parking spot at Walmart and got one.  I don’t know how to answer the people who say they prayed for a successful business and got it.  I don’t know how to answer people who pray for tangible results and believe they get them.  I certainly am careful when I respond to people who pray for tangible things and don’t get them.  

I have been guilty of praying to the God I want.  The God who will give me the “things” I want.  I have avoided praying God to show me who I am.  I have failed to pray for a clean and pure heart.  I have seldom prayed to see the world as God sees the world.  

Who knows what I would get if I prayed more diligently for God to reshape me in His image.  What if I prayed to enjoy the wilderness experience?  What if I prayed for God to  do in me what he did in Moses.  In Joseph.  In Jesus.  Do I really want to spend my life out of place, wandering in the desert?  Do I really want to be sold into slavery or imprisoned?  Do I really want to be ridiculed and sacrificed?  Not hardly.

Oh Lord, gently break me and with favor, rebuild me.  

Grace and peace.

