I want to be better today than I was yesterday.  I want to be a better Christ-follower, a better father, a better friend.  The challenge is that I remember the past too easily, I remember my mistakes and my failings and it is easy for me to believe that is who I am.  It’s hard to get better when you see yourself for your failings and weaknesses.  It’s close to impossible to get better when that is one’s focus.

I am blessed to have many good people in my life.  I’ve used Christian-centered counseling that has done wonders to help me see who God made me to be.  I have friends that constantly lift me up and encourage me.  I have children who love me in spite of the things I’ve done to hurt them.  God is surrounding me with who I need to let go of yesterday and live for today, for a better today.

The challenge of the journey is the past.  The past is the past, not something that defines me.  I have to remember that.  And constantly remind myself.

Today, I will try to be better than I was yesterday.  It’s really all I can do.  Love better.  Look for what God puts in front of me better.  Pray better.  Serve better.

Grace and peace.

