A side note to begin…I’ve written over 1,250 blog posts.  Wow.  Number 1,250 was about the spiritual giants I met at Belton Church of Christ.  I think that’s pretty cool.

So Monday (this post will go up on Wednesday) was a difficult day for me.  Tuesday I woke up and was bombarded with Jesus Calling’s devotional for December 10.  I referenced part of it in my last post and will add this from the second paragraph, “Instead of yearning for a problem free life, rejoice that trouble can highlight your awareness of My Presence.”  Well, yuck!  Really, who wants to rejoice about troubles?

There was a day when I said, bring it on Lord, because I cherished the growth I was experiencing in my mind and in my heart.  Today, I’m asking the Lord for a respite.  At the same time, there is someone in my life who is desiring growth and it’s hard for me to encourage them to grow while wanting to take a break myself.

Back to the story, I read Jesus Calling then turned on iTunes radio and the first song is Praise You In This Storm by Casting Crowns.  Well, isn’t that unfortunate.  I didn’t catch the title of the next song but it was about everything falling apart by Sidewalk Prophets.  Well, that was unfortunate too.  You see, I needed a song about everything being easy and the storms being behind me.  Then, I heard Laura Story sing Blessings before I walked out the door and My. BRAIN. IS. ON. OVERLOAD.  What are you trying to tell me God?

Give it a listen here…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CSVqHcdhXQ and here’s a version with lyrics…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GMeFzFUbmJo

I don’t want to miss God’s blessings.  I really don’t.  I want some peace and comfort but I may need to accept that peace and comfort is often disguised.

I need to return to my simple prayer I prayed when my world first crumbled before me.  “Lord, open my eyes to see what you want me to see.  Open my ears to hear what you want me to hear.  Open my mouth to say what you want me to say.  If I do this Lord, it will be a good day.  Amen.”

Grace and peace.

