Tags

, , ,

Shame.  I didn’t begin to understand shame or the damage it causes until just a few years ago.  I’m now in the middle of a couple of Brene Brown books and her research on shame and worthiness is flooding my mind.  Thoughts of days gone by, of how I have used shame and how it has been used on me and what I will attempt to do differently in the future is at the front of my mind.

A friend once told me that shame is satan’s greatest tool.  I have come to believe it.  I’m seeing how shame has shaped my vision of who I am and how (un)worthy I am of love and acceptance.  I’m seeing how shame has helped lead me down paths of destruction and despair and I never even knew it.

I’m going to have more to say about shame and worthiness as I go deeper into her material.  For now, let me say that it is one of the best studies I could be involved in and wish I had started it long ago, certainly before I raising children.  There is good information to be had about how we can stop shame and raise the level of self-worthiness that people feel and raise the level of their ability to accept themselves and others.  Oh, it’s good stuff.  I dare say it is God stuff.

Grace and peace.

