It’s Monday.  I’ve never disliked Mondays the way some people do but I’m seeing them from another side of the coin and Monday is more distasteful than it used to be.  Monday now means a 3 hour drive to work.  It means a week in a place where I don’t know anyone and don’t have my support group close.  It means separation from the people I love the most.  I see it from the other side of the coin now.

Spaghetti has held a very negative connotation for me for several years.  It’s a meal that isn’t great for a diabetic and it reminds me of a relationship gone very wrong for reasons I won’t address.  Suffice it to say spaghetti has simply evoked very, very negative emotions for me in the last 15 years.  Yesterday, I was invited to lunch for spaghetti.  The person who invited me knows my “spaghetti issues” but the invitation was innocent.  I accepted thinking about all the years of hurt.  After the day was done, I was seeing another side of the coin.  So many things went right around lunch and the time before and after that it has started to allow me to think about spaghetti and have some good thoughts.  I’m sure it hasn’t erased all the pain but I see it from the other side of the coin now.

Life is filled with good and bad.  I wish I could filter out the bad and just let the good in but it doesn’t work that way.  I have to accept both and while the bad can be painful, I’m so thankful there is good to ease the pain if not overcome it.  In any situation, there is the other side of the coin.  I hope I get to see the other side in all my bad experiences.

Grace and peace.

