Tags

,

I love good singing.  Growing up in the churches of Christ, I have been fortunate to hear good singing.  At Abilene Christian University, they have a tradition at several events where the entire audience sings “The Lord Bless You and Keep You” and, with 4,000+ voices, it can be overwhelmingly powerful.

The good Lord chose not to bless me with a singing voice.  I think he knew that if I had a good voice, I’d wind up in a band like Motley Crue or certainly living the life of a rock star and all the bad that comes with that.  So, being in the churches of Christ, I was able to boast that I made a joyful noise just like the Bible calls for.  Woohoo!

Now don’t get me wrong.  Just because of grew up in a church of Christ background doesn’t mean I’m against instruments.  If you get in my truck, you’ll know I like my subwoofers turned up high.  I have worshipped many times where a band was used and found them to be incredibly talented.  I’m not against instruments but I am for voices.  I love the Sing Off, a voice-only show on TV.  I love The Voice where one person is initially judged solely by the sound of their voice.

All that to say, some days I just feel like singing.  I sing in the bathroom.  I sing in the shower.  I sing getting dressed.  I sing in the truck.  I sing in the office.  Yes, that one does draw some consternation.  And, when I’m singing, I find myself singing praise songs.  Today, 10,000 Reasons is on my heart.  I was fortunate to be able to worship with Matt Chandler last May.  It was a very uplifting experience and this has become one of my favorite songs.  I hope you will enjoy…and sing along with me.

10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman

Grace and peace.

