Tags

, ,

I had a couple of good conversations last Friday on my 3 hour drive from my workplace to home.  It was good to talk to old friends, to share what is going good and the bumps in the road.  As I shared some of my current struggles, I told one of them, “I’m ready to be the bearer of good news.”  I’m in a situation that is challenging to say the least and I’m away from the people I love the most.  I told my buddy, “I’m ready to call you and tell you how my job is going great, how I enjoy the people I work with, how I am being challenged and rewarded while using my gifts.  I’m ready to tell you how good life is being close to the woman I love and being near my son in a place I bought that has brought me lots of peaceful moments in the past.  I’m ready to call and fill you up with all my good news.”  I’m ready for my life to be sunny side up!

I am reading the same two pieces of scripture every day, hoping and praying God hears my pleas like he heard David’s.  I read Psalms 143, a lament of David’s.  I feel the words not because our circumstances are the same but David’s thoughts certainly encapsulate my feelings towards my current struggle.  Then I read Psalms 91:14-16.  David’s words give me hope that a sunny side up life is coming soon.

“Because he[b] loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;
    I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.
 He will call on me, and I will answer him;
    I will be with him in trouble,
    I will deliver him and honor him.
 With long life I will satisfy him
    and show him my salvation.”

Just like Merton, even though I may not be walking in God’s will because I cannot see it, it is where I want to be right now.  And, just like David, I acknowledge God and his greatness and know he can change my circumstances in a heartbeat.  I pray that he does.  I pray that God gives me an abundant life that is sunny side up and that he chooses to do so now.

Grace and peace.

