Tags

, , , ,

I voted on Tuesday.  Like many of my friends and thousands of people I don’t know, I took the time to cast my vote as part of the “democratic process” and let my voice be heard.  I heard 2/3 of the populace did not vote.  I am not surprised.

I voted but I cannot say it makes me proud because in this election, like so many others, I feel I am voting for the candidate who is not as bad as another.  The mud slinging, name-calling, attack ads and arrogance do not lead me to believe “in” a candidate and to believe even less of what they say.  Then there is the cash.  Lots and lots of cash.  From lobbyists.  From corporations.  From political machines.  Why does it take millions and millions of dollars to run a campaign?  And, how in the world does a candidate spend that much getting elected and then say the money to feed and house the homeless is not available?  Say what?

Men and women have sacrificed to give us the right to vote.  They have bled, lost friends, lost limbs, lost lives.  They have given of everything they have for everything we have and I bet not a single one of them did it hoping partisan politics and cash would rule the day.  What a sorry job so many candidates do of honoring what was given for their right to seek office.  It is disgusting at many levels.

In another life I was very political.  I stayed up with a meat and cheese tray watching election results and I knew all the candidates.  Then real life hit me and realized that what we have now is barely a semblance of what people have and continue to sacrifice their life and limb and mental health for in our country.

Billions of dollars have been spent in my lifetime to get people elected.  How many families live on dollars a day, on the streets, who cannot get treatment for mental and physical illness and so many other needs so someone can get “elected” to office to be a “public servant” and help the people who need the most help?

For the record, I voted for Republicans, Democrats and Libertarians in this election.  I do not belong to a party.  I belong to God and I live in the United States of America.  (United.  Now there’s a word our politicians need to think about.)  I am conservative in some areas, liberal in others and moderate on most.  Not that any of that matters.  What matters is, and what should matter the most in our elections, is who truly has a heart for serving others.  When I find a ballot full of that type of candidate, I will truly be proud to vote.

Grace and peace.

