Tags

, ,

“Joy does not simply happen to us. We have to choose joy and keep choosing it every day.” ~Henri Nouwen

I want to overflow with thankfulness.  OVERFLOW!

Yesterday, I was thinking while praying (yes, sometimes I can chew bubblegum and walk at the same time) all that I had to be thankful for.  For instance, my job situation right now isn’t the best, lots of problems and I know the position could go away depending on some different factors, and yet I am thankful for this job in the midst of those issues.  I’m thankful because it brought me home.  I’m thankful because it allowed me to marry my VSW and start a life that is more fulfilling than anything I have known or can remember.  I’m thankful that God has given me this time and this space to live and love and realize all that I have.

Yes, there is stress with my job.  Yes, there is financial stress with what the last few years have brought me.  Yes, there may be lots of stress in lots of areas…yet I want to live thankfully and trust all the rest will work out if I am true to being thankful and doing the best I can do to be the best husband, father, friend, employee and child of God I can be.  And I want to overflow with thankfulness.

Joy comes from thankfulness.  I want to be a catalyst for more joy in the world.

Grace and peace.

