Tags

, , , , ,

I turned 50 back in December.  YES!  I know!  I am OLD!  That said, I am old AND I am still learning.  I believe my desire to learn about myself, about technology, about finance and economics, about cattle raising…I believe the desire to keep learning keeps me feeling younger.  Some days I think I’m 25.  Some days 35.  Some days I start to roll out of bed and think I’m 85 but I digress.

Learning about me and how to make me better has to be one of the most exciting things in my life.  Learning about me starts with learning about God and his love and desire for me.  That is both challenging and comforting.  The other thing I’m spending time on right now is the power of the mind.  It is an incredible tool.  I recently hear Dr. Caroline Leaf speak on the power of the mind as the single greatest power we have.  Our ability to choose how we think, what we put in our brain and how we see life.  It is powerful.

I used to poo-poo this idea of positive thinking and still think it is abused in some arenas.  Where I am right now is beginning to understand that I can use my mind to do great things but it takes work.  I still don’t buy in to “name it and claim it” thinking.  Life is tough and stuff keeps coming at me to make it difficult so it requires work on my part to keep my thoughts on the right path.

I’m still learning at 50 and I hope there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t try to keep learning.  I only have 50-60 years left on this earth and I want to make the most of them so I can make an impact on the people around me and to build the kingdom of God as we know it here on this earth.

Grace and peace.

