Tags

, ,

Two police officers were shot and killed in small town in Mississippi recently. Police officers in Garland, Texas were under fire by two would-be terrorists a few weeks ago.

I know there are some bad cops.  Bad attitudes, bad thoughts, bad actions.

Yet, when the bullets are flying we want them on the front line.

So, whey a Ferguson, Missouri comes along or a Baltimore, Maryland comes along why are so many so quick to condemn?  These are men and women who walk out of their house each day knowing they may come face-to-face with some bad people, some dangerous people, some people who just don’t care about the life of another person.  I walk out of the house each day wondering if I can sell a few more pair of boots.  I’m not sure my level of stress comes anywhere near the police officer walking out his door.  (Sarcasm intended)

When a kid gets shot in the street I cannot help but wonder why the police officer felt he needed to shoot.  If that cop tells me to put my hands up, they are going high in the air with my palms facing him so he knows I am not a threat.  Sure, I’m not a black kid who may be tired of being profiled but I am smart enough to know that I don’t want someone with a gun mistaking any of my actions.  Really, it doesn’t take someone very smart to figure that out.  If you don’t want to get shot, don’t argue, don’t fight, don’t run, don’t put your hands in your pockets or pull them out without being very clear and very slow about what you are doing.

I don’t know what it is like to grow up in poverty.  I don’t know what it is like to grow up black.  Or Muslim.  I’m sure they all take more crap than I can imagine but, I think it is safe to say, if you don’t want to get shot and killed or beat up and bruised, don’t aggravate a police officer.  Go above and beyond what you need to do to say alive.  Swallow your pride or your pain or whatever it is and live another day.

Bad people, no matter what their occupation, should be punished for doing bad things.  Burning down buildings, stealing, vandalizing…all you do is isolate yourself and kill your opportunity to really have a voice.

No, I don’t have all the answers but I have this one.  If you don’t want to get shot, the best option is to comply and do what the police ask you to do.  The opportunity of a new day has so much more hope than a life cut short.

Grace and peace.

