Tags

, ,

I recently saw a sign at a local congregation that read, “If excuses came to church the pews would be full.”  Funny sign.

I pass by this building several times a week and read their sign.  I believe they are good people with the intention of doing good things.  I notice their sign is often about people needing to come to “the church” and attending services.  It got me thinking about all the times Jesus called his followers to be at services.

Jesus called us TO BE THE CHURCH, not come to church.  We have abused the word “church” so much that we have forgotten it is a group of people, not a building.  He said to GO, he showed us how to walk among the lost, to eat with them and join them in their homes.  He taught us to love and to give.

Now, the sign is right in one sense because I have been one to use excuses why I can’t be the church.  I’m not good enough.  I don’t know enough.  I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.  I’m not a good people person.  Yada, yada, yada.  I have used excuses to not be the church.  If excuses could be the church, maybe the hungry would be less hungry, the naked would be less naked and the hurting would be a little less hurt.

I look forward to the day there is much less focus on the pews and much more focus on being active as the church.  If our hearts are in the right place and our minds and bodies are doing the right thing, the pews will take care of themselves.

Go, be the church today.

Grace and peace.

